Travel Tip #1

Travel Tip #1 – Electronic copies and receipts

            I am going to try a segment on travel tips that we have learned along the way. Hopefully others can find this useful and avoid making the same mistakes we have – because, trust me on this one, some mistakes are better left to the professionals, er, us . One of the greatest lessons I have learned in life is that mistakes and losses are merely opportunities for learning and growth. That motto is what is getting me through the our $3K loss of our beloved surfboards.

            Lesson number one is: Make electronic copies of all important documents, and email them to yourself and a contact back home. This includes: passports, driver’s licenses, marriage certificates, visas, tickets, insurance policies, student I.D.’s, etc. This way, if you ever lose your original, you have a safe backup. Ryan and I have also made paper copies to keep in our own backpacks. Luckily, we haven’t had a run-in with this tip but if we ever do lose something important, we have secure backups.

Yesterday, the Quepos ATM ate my debit card after I failed to remove it within 3 seconds of the machine spitting it out. Whoops. Had I made an electronic copy of it, I would still be using it – online at least. I was planning on ordering Mother’s Day gifts through Pinhole press, but alas, my plan was spoiled.

Is it just me or have a lot of things gone wrong since we’ve been here? Stolen surfboards, lost ATM card, washed  iPods, computers crapping out… My father-in-law reminded us that if this is the all that has happened – we’re doing all right. Way to look on the bright side there Jimbo.

P.S.  No pictures this post because who really wants to see pictures of copies of our passports?

Leave a Reply

