“Life Power”

Yesterday, Ryan and I whipped out our new juicer and went to town. We made a trip to Central Market to buy all of the delicious fruits and veggies we could find in the 15 minutes we had to shop before they closed, and then made the most delicious, practically Daily Juice worthy, drinks we had ever laid our lips upon. As soon as we finished our concoction, we had a huge surge of energy which we assumed was just in our heads – that is until we woke up at 6:30 am bursting with life. That may not be weird to some but we love a good sleep-fest and can easily manage to sleep until noon… or later. Should I be embarrassed to admit that?

With energy and vitality like we both felt today, we decided to make it a part of our daily life. I love a good experiment so I am tracking what these daily veggie intakes do to improve my health and life. It may sound silly but other than my mom shoving them down my throat as a kid, I can’t say I have ever eaten vegetables regularly. I am super weird when it comes to food and stick to a few main food groups.. err.. items:

Special K or Life cereal with milk
Grilled peanut butter and jelly
Chuy’s Tex Mex
Thundercloud Subs –
Freebirds chicken tacos
Cheese – queso especially!
Blueberries
Edemame

Well, today I researched all about vegetables and stocked up on some super nutritious plants to drink tonight. I made a salad in a glass with this recipe for 2:

6 large carrots
2 large tomatoes
1 celery stalk
4 stems of kale (completely new to us)
1 collard leaf (also new)
6 strawberries
1 shake cayenne
sea salt
cracked pepper

Not quite as delicious as last night’s fruit overload but I am guessing it is a whole lot beneficial with a lot less fructose.

Directly after drinking his glass, Ryan looked at me with wide eyes and asked if “I felt wicked crazy” and then described the phenomenon as having “life power”. I am excited to see what this does for our health and lifestyle!

* disclaimer: this all went down around 12:30 am which is the reason for such tired eyes.

Leave a Reply

